Firefox Quantum is out.....

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by flhrci, Nov 14, 2017 at 9:16 AM.

  1. flhrci

    flhrci En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,763
    Location:
    Ashville, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    David
    and its fast!

    New Firefox browser.
     
  2. GeorgeC

    GeorgeC Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,969
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GeorgeC
    Sigh, broke NoScript and RequestPolicy.
     
  3. flhrci

    flhrci En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,763
    Location:
    Ashville, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    David
    That's not good. Can you revert back to the old browser?
     
  4. teejayevans

    teejayevans Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,443
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    They’ve been having problems with legacy firefox, cpu usage and memory leaks...I’ll wait for a while, I just upgraded to iOS 11.
     
  5. wsuffa

    wsuffa Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,873
    Location:
    DC Suburbs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bill S.
    LastPass updated to accommodate and broke stuff in the process. Their support folks offered no help.
     
  6. flhrci

    flhrci En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,763
    Location:
    Ashville, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    David
    Nice to know. I use LastPass but haven't used it yet today.
     
  7. Mtns2Skies

    Mtns2Skies Super Moderator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,914
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mtns2Skies
    Just downloaded quantum. I like what I see!
     
  8. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    13,461
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    I found this page that has old versions archived. (If the version you want lists a "Firefox Installer," don't use it; use the "setup" file instead. When I used the "installer" file, it installed the latest version instead of the one I wanted.)

    https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/
     
  9. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    13,461
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    This article has a link to an "addon compatibility reporter" addon. After installing it, when you go to your Firefox addons list, it highlights in yellow any addons that will not be compatible with Firefox Quantum. The only catch is that it's not compatible with Firefox Quantum, so you have to use it before your Firefox gets updated! When I read that, I shut off my Internet connection and made sure that Firefox was not set to automatically update before turning it on again.

    http://www.zdnet.com/article/firefo...10aaa6b&bhid=24083753282545551715082267791408
     
  10. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,894
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I use Firefox - it automatically upgraded on me today. I had been having problems with the previous version slowing to a crawl for no apparent reason. I had to re-cycle it every couple of hours. I never did figure it out (PC, Win7). Will see what happens with the new version.
     
  11. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    13,461
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    The new version is definitely faster, which is good, because the previous versions were noticeably on the slow side.
     
  12. Piperonca

    Piperonca Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Piperonca
    Really screwed up bookmarks, though.
     
    Scrabo likes this.
  13. Pilawt

    Pilawt Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,121
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilawt
    Or at least a fine job of hiding them ...

    :mad:
     
  14. Norman

    Norman En-Route

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4,538
    Location:
    cone of confusion
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    KPTK
    I upgraded yesterday and had no problems. Everything worked as advertised.
     
  15. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,894
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    A few little "where did they put..." moments, but it's faster than the previous version and doesn't hang up on my PC like the previous version.
     
  16. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    41,360
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    I’m trying to remember the last time I launched Firefox. I’ve been using Chrome nearly exclusively for nearly three years without much of a need to open Firefox. Interesting.

    Chrome is a resource pig but it’s rarely slow.

    Edge has slowly worked its way to “reasonably useable” and actually has some sandboxing features that the others don’t do nearly as well, much as I hate to say it.

    Safari was a lost cause a loooooong time ago. I have to keep it on the Mac for a couple of old devices that require Java in the browser now that’s all the others have banned it as a browser app runner, for security.
     
  17. Pilawt

    Pilawt Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,121
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilawt
  18. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    13,461
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    I switched to Chrome for a while for my email account on AT&T/Yahoo, because the Web page would sometimes bog down and hang on Firefox. However I noticed that when I let Chrome sit on that Web page all day, a scammer would hijack the browser, asking me to take a fake AT&T survey. That might not happen with Firefox, because I configured it to ask for permission before redirecting to another Web page. (If there's a way to set that up on Chrome, I haven't found it.) I'm trying the new Firefox with my email server again, and while it's too soon to tell whether the problems are fixed, the speed of it is promising.
     
  19. teejayevans

    teejayevans Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,443
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    I installed it as a local copy, will keep old (56) as primary since I use several add ons,which no longer work on 57.