FBO Manager Here - Seeking Advice from Pilots

redknight

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
redknight
Hello All, I am a new FBO Manager and also new to this site. I was just curious what sort of expectations pilots have when arriving to small FBOs like mine in Jamestown, North Dakota. What do pilots look for that separates a "good" FBO from a "great" FBO. Unfortunately, we are lacking some services and we are also not exactly a busy airport so 24/7 coverage is not really possible. We, for example, last year got rid of a courtesy car due to excessive abuse, followed by a little bit of damage, and generally losing money from it. To avoid writing too much here, just looking for advice to make the place a nice place to fly to with our limited services available. For a small FBO in a small town, what do people look for and expect? Cleanliness above all? Friendly and helpful employees? Pilot services like lounging, food, t.v., etc.? I know the basics and naturally friendly and helpful employees are important for me to consider, just would love to hear from pilots who have surely seen their fair share of FBOs around the nation. Thanks for any information provide and you all keep up the safe flying!

Cheap fuel, Over the top customer service, wifi

Cheap, available (self-serve) fuel is my major concern when just stopping for gas. It's great when there is a car available so I can get something to eat and/or re-stock the cooler. In the summer it's nice to get some ice for the cooler as well. Getting the windscreen cleaned with full-service fuel is wonderful as long as care is used in the cleaning.