farsighted pilots, on landing perspective

exncsurfer

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
exncsurfer
Could prescription glasses affect your timing on landings? I'm a student pilot working on landings. I am mildly farsighted, so I don't have to wear glasses for distance, but it does reduce eye strain over time. So, sometimes I wear them sometimes not. I assume the answer here is just to decide, with or without, and stick with it at least till I get more comfortable with my timing.

When I put on my glasses the view gets a bit larger, so, that might make me feel like i'm closer to objects than I am. Also due to a slight astigmatism correction, the view also stretches a bit vertically which makes me feel like i'm higher above the road when driving a car.

Anyone else farsighted have any input on this. Maybe you notice something similar with/without your glasses on?

And before you say it, i know, 'stop trying to blame your crappy landings on your glasses!' Ha.

I'm far sighted and definitely don't use glasses for landing...no prescription glasses though, just drugstore readers.

Be consistent when learning to land - either wear the glasses or don't and use whichever condition provides the sharpest view.

...and stop blaming your glasses for your crappy landings...

Last edited:
Oh and by the way, thank you for providing me another way of justifying my crappy landings.

Since you're a student, it's likely inconsistent landings have more to do with your experience level than glasses.

With that said, changing your view of the world isn't helping. Wear the glasses or don't wear them but do it the same way all the time. You're learning what the sight picture should look like, trying to judge height, etc. Swapping out your glasses is changing your view and introducing an additional variable that really isn't needed.