FAA Wings Program

AKBill

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
AKBill
I was wondering if the wings program would benefit me. I don't know a lot about it yet just starting to look into it.

My background is PPL, SEL, 25 years flying, +1200 hours. I try to fly at least once a week, more if weather and schedule are kind to me. Lately with the C-19 stuff I'm working 3 to 4 weeks straight with no chance to fly. This work schedule will most likely be the new norm for me. I do get 3 weeks off and can fly my butt of if weather permits.

I was thinking parts of the wing program might help keep me proficient and thinking about safety. I would appreciate anyone with personal experience/knowledge of the wings program to share their thoughts

Thanks

Yes, it will.
It can lower your insurance costs.
I'm 71 and I'm paying $283.00 a year for $40,000.00 hull, etc

You might even learn something useful.
I just finished 5 online courses, offered by the people at GBR during the pandemic.
Some things have changed in the last couple years. Who knew?

I do them. Like lots of things, the quality varies considerably. Some are very well done, extremely professional and you can get a lot out of them. Others start out that way, but then the story tellers take over and they, along with the legal experts who need to demonstrate their knowledge of the FAR or AIM, can dissolve the seminar very rapidly, and the important information never gets out because the speakers run out of time, or it gets rushed and there isn’t an opportunity to ask questions. That used to happen only in live seminars but I had it occur just the other day on a Zoom webinar which by the way, they should never allow participants to orally ask questions but rather just submit questions through the chat function.

YMMV, but I still think they are worth it. The great thing about Zoom is if the webinar goes off the rails, you just shut it down, and you don’t have a 50 mile drive home.