External Hard Drive for Mac Book

Gary

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Gary
Being nearly a complete novice at Apple stuff... what is a reasonable external hard drive for a Mac Book? The daughter would like one that plugs in with the USB port and is easily transportable. Not sure what storage quantiy she needs but most likely in the 5 -10 gig range. Priorities are: 1.) ease of use; 2.) portability; 3.) price.

Any suggestions? There are lots of choices.

Gary

In the 5-10 gig range, just get a flash drive.

I like the lacie all-terrain rugged drives, but I backup a larger amount than just 5-10 gig.

In the 5-10 gig range, just get a flash drive.

I like the lacie all-terrain rugged drives, but I backup a larger amount than just 5-10 gig.

Thanks - I did mis-type the size - she needs greater than 500 GB since she does a lot of picture and graphic work.

Gary

Being nearly a complete novice at Apple stuff... what is a reasonable external hard drive for a Mac Book? The daughter would like one that plugs in with the USB port and is easily transportable. Not sure what storage quantiy she needs but most likely in the 5 -10 gig range. Priorities are: 1.) ease of use; 2.) portability; 3.) price.

Gary

suggestion number 1: forget that you're getting a hard drive for an Apple.

A USB Will work on a macbook period. USB is universal and I have yet to run into a USB hard drive that cannot be mounted by an intel macbook.

suggestion number 2: do get USB and nothing less.

I'd suggest the Western Digital Mypassport. it's a tiny external that would workout great.

I also suggest newegg.com

what you're looking for is just a USB External. if you search for 2.5" HD you will more than likely get a hard drive that does not need to be plugged into a power source, which for a laptop is great. if you get 3.5", you will 99% of the time need to plug into the wall which is great since it's cheaper, but you lose the portability.

Hopw I helped, I know I can talk a lot sometimes.