Eosinophilic Esophagitis

J

John Doe pilot

Howdy all,
I am an aspiring career pilot. I have a CFI checkride coming up. I also have a first class medical which I received in 2020. Since then I have developed eosinophilic esophagitis, an allergic reaction characterized by difficulty swallowing. Such is the difficulty swallowing that I have had to receive emergency care due to food impaction in my lower esophagus. I.E. I couldn't swallow a single thing, not even my own saliva, due to a chunk of food being lodged in my lower esophagus. I could still breathe and speak just fine. I was initially prescribed prilosec, then budesonide (a steroid normally given to asthma patients but I was instructed to swallow the doses in a slurry of the medicine mixed with maple syrup to reduce swelling of my esophagus). I have had an upper endoscopy and a biopsy since my ER visits. This condition is caused by an allergic reaction to one of six food groups. I have since eliminated all of these foods from my diet. I plan to re-introduce them one at a time in order to hopefully determine which one is causing the issue. My symptoms are minimal and I feel the condition is managed. I have a GI who is willing to vouch for me if need be. I'm not terribly worried about disclosing my condition as it stands on my next medical, but I am worried that the two ER visits for emergency endoscopies could raise some eyebrows is Oklahoma City. I would appreciate any input on how best to proceed.
Cheers all and thanks,
John Doe

Howdy all,