Engineers not Creative? [na]

sierra

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
sierra
the title is actually not quite accurate, since i know a few aero-engineers and they are (well some of them are) creative.

Do those of you who consider yourselves "strict" engineers also consider yourselves to be non-creative? One of the other threads struck me, as someone said something about a topic being too creative for their engineering brain.

I would posit that anyone who is involved in improving a process, developing a process, designing an entity, or planning something must, by default, have a bit of creativity to their psyche. One can't develop out of nothing if one can't bring something different to the table. Perhaps we engineers (and I'm really a hybrid, as I'm a scientist as well) tend to think of our creative tasks as "looking at things from a different angle" rather than as creative tasks.

Just curious.... a case in point would be Rutan's design on SpaceShip 1. Those funny wings were definitely creative.

From a long discussion I had a long time ago we figured out that there are design engineers and production engineers. This is a classic astronaut vs astronomer type theory:

True production engineers will take canned prefabricated parts in front of them and just assemble according to instructions, occasionally improve the assembly process, and sometimes maybe make a somewhat interesting variation of existing designs. Put a box of raw materials in front of them and no instructions and they don't know what to do next. They are generally super picky on teeny pointless details to the point they'll ignore the important stuff. They do not want to be called fruitcakes or wacko's.