Engine Monitor- what would be some alarm bells if seen?

Huckster79

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Huckster79
So I'm new to this engine monitor stuff. My "new" Mooney has a JPI edm830. I recall hearing one advantage is you can sometimes "see" problems within the engine on there before anything is heard or anything actually goes sideways...

So besides using it to monitor my CHTs or find EGT peak and lean one side or other and basic parameters like oil temp/pressure, what "things" would a wise pilot be glancing at to know if they have an unhappy engine on an engine monitor?

For my Lycoming O360 with a carb.
Oil temp sitting @ 180 deg. Higher or lower than ask why.
CHT at or below 400. Going above 450 would be an urgent alert.
EGT lean to target of 1500. Going past 1550 would be concerning. Going past 1650 would be an urgent alert. One cylinder having abnormally low EGT would be concerning and quite possibly an urgent alert.

The temps on the four cylinders are reasonably in line with each other. Not exactly but ballpark and get used to what they look like to be aware of something changing.

I flew before having an engine monitor. Now that I have one, I think it would make me nervous not to have one. I guess it is what you get used to.

I also like downloading the data from the engine monitor onto a memory card/stick then uploading it into Savvy Aviation where it is then presented graphically for me to look at.

One cylinder having abnormally low EGT would be concerning and quite possibly an urgent alert.
One cylinder with an abnormally high EGT might indicate a spark plug issue.

I have a new 830 that I am waiting to install (under supervision) during my annual late Fall. Since it’s not primary, you should be able to program a custom alarm which can be at a different limit than the POH for the early warning you seek.