Engine failure over water?

benb172

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Benb172
I am a student pilot and did a short X-Country with my instructor last night over the Cape. We flew 2,500 about a mile off the cost but then 4,500 on the way back 2 miles off the coast. What is considered a safe altitude over water in the event of an engine failure? Thanks for the Help!

I am a student pilot and did a short X-Country with my instructor last night over the Cape. We flew 2,500 about a mile off the cost but then 4,500 on the way back 2 miles off the coast. What is considered a safe altitude over water in the event of an engine failure? Thanks for the Help!

Take your aircraft's glide ratio, say a 172 at 9:1 (look in the POH)
Multiply that by your altitude above the water.

Example 9X2500'=21,500' divided by 5280 (feet in a mile) = 4 miles of gliding range so you would easily be able to reach the shore. Same with the other scenario.

I would say your instructor is being safe, but this is exactly the kind of thing your instructor should be teaching you.

Anything above 1' AGL. :rofl:

I just stay within gliding distance of land .... or carry a life preserver.

Yep, at that distance/altitude you had an easy glide to a beach landing as long as you didn't have a severe offshore wind.

Yeah, that water looked pretty cold last night. Don't think swimming would have been that fun.

Take your aircraft's glide ratio, say a 172 at 9:1 (look in the POH)
Multiply that by your altitude above the water.

Example 9X2500'=21,500' divided by 5280 (feet in a mile) = 4 miles of gliding range so you would easily be able to reach the shore. Same with the other scenario.

I would say your instructor is being safe, but this is exactly the kind of thing your instructor should be teaching you.

I would recommend subtracting at least 10% from the glide numbers to account for the possibility of sub par performance of the scared person at the controls.