Emergency 180 in the Smoke

Have you ever flown close to/below your minimums to complete a flight for a specific purpose?

• Total voters

Dmitri Scheidel

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
NorCali.Pilot
First off, I was a student pilot.
I was finishing up my flight training in summer of 2016 out of Concord Buchanan Airfield (KCCR). I needed 0.7 more hours of solo cross country to meet all hourly Minimums for the private pilot certificate. My route of flight was to depart out of CCR and head south over highway 680 over Walnut Creek before turning a little bit in-land to stay away from SFO’s class Bravo to Hollister Co airport. Ceiling was about 4-5,000ft broken but I planned for 3,500ft the whole way. May I mind you that this was in the summer, so the ceiling was not a cloud layer, it was a straight up smoke layer.

So I departed as normal and started making my way down, the could base definitely got larger the higher I climbed, confirming I couldn’t go heiger than around 4,500feet as expected. I was about 5nm to the north west (heading south east) of Livermore airport when I hit this wall of smoke. In a matter of minutes visibility dropped from more than 10 (but not unlimited) to about 6-7sm. As a student pilot this scared me. A lot. I expected reduced viz and the cloud layer, but this wall of smoke spooked me. I was using the VOR and ground waypoints to navigate to practice my pilotage, but I loaded up the GPS after I hit the wall to smooth my worries as I continued. Visibility and clouds were fine, it was just as a new pilot that the current situation was definitely giving me a bad feeling in the gut.

As I continued I neared and crossed over Livermore (LVK) airport when NorCal approach gave me 3 traffic advisories:
- Southwest 738 descending at my 10o’clock.
- A Cirrus at my 12o’clock closing in
- And a news chopper under me.