Educate me, coriolis effect, longest sniper shot, flying

fudge80

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
fudge80
I work in the gun industry part time so when the longest sniper shot in recorded history happens usually there is some banter and questions. Yesterday a Canadian sniper was credited at making a kill shot at over 2 miles. A lot goes into making a shot that long, over 600ft of bullet drop over that distance, etc.

All the articles state coriolis effect comes into play at shooting distances of over a 1000 yards. I have always wondered why? I never thought it was actually a factor more of a myth. None of my co-workers really knew so we started googling, all the articles state that since the bullet is not connected to the earth that the earth is rotating underneath it.

So my question is why doesn't the same principal apply to airplanes? Since the earth is rotating west to east why can't I take my little Cessna up and do a few 360's and land several hundred miles west of where I started? ( or an Olympic long jumper having extra distance when jumping towards the west vs. jumping towards the east, or any other of a million examples)

Any thoughts and discussion on this are greatly appreciated.

As a former Artillery guy, it's definitely very real at those distances. It matters for an artillery round which has a MUCH bigger allowance for being inches off. I can't imagine how he did that with a .50 cal....

So my question is why doesn't the same principal apply to airplanes? Since the earth is rotating west to east why can't I take my little Cessna up and do a few 360's and land several hundred miles west of where I started?

It does apply to airplanes. If a plane were making perfect 360's over an airport in a no-wind situation without any geographical or navigational reference, after 20 mins or so, you'd no longer be over the airport.

It's also why when flying from London to New York that you leave at 3pm and your arrive at 3pm.

How are you navigating?