DWI/3rd Class Medical/HIMS

Pilot91

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Pilot91
Little background...

I am currently 26 years old, I received a DWI when I was 20. I was in college, and after a recent break-up my buddies took me out for a night of heavy drinking. By the end of the night, I found myself in my truck trying to drive home, when I was pulled over. I was very intoxicated and didn't even know my age. I blew a bac of .217 and was arrested. The police report shows I was very cooperative during the entire arrest. This was my first and only DWI, and only arrest. I had not been in any trouble before the DWI for anything. I have had no further alcohol related offense. (few speeding tickets here and there)

I have gone back and forth with the FAA over the last few years trying to get them the information they are requesting. I am a private pilot, and I flew my 150 maybe 3 times a month. Flying was just a fun thing for me to do, I started flying when I was 15, and got my license at 17. I would supply the FAA with the information they had asked, but it never seemed to be enough, or adequate. So after years and years of back and forth, I finally got to the point of them saying I needed a HIMS sponsor due to my bac being so high.

I was able to get set up with a HIMS AME, and have been seeing him for about 4 months now. I am about 2 months into my monitoring stage. My HIMS AME is having me do a breathalyzer monitor 3 times a day at random. He stated we would do this for 3 months, then supply the data with some other info to the FAA for a SI. Now I have been completely abstinent for 3 months. I am not what you would consider as an "alcoholic". I am a social drinker, and during the time of my DWI 6 years ago, I was in the wrong place at the wrong time.