Dummy guide needed: s-tec 40/50 autopilot

LifeAsBen

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
LifeAsBen
I feel like a total newb, ok I sort of am. But I did just pass my IR checkride so I'm not a total fool. Anyways...I joined a flying club and the C172 has an s-tec 40/50 autopilot. So naturally I checked out the POH for the AP but it is not intuitive. I need an Idiots Guide to how to use this AP! Can anyone out there explain this thing in plain english ?

Here's the POH for the s-tec 40/50: http://genesys-aerosystems.com/sites/default/files/files/System Forty_Fifty.pdf

First off, which one is it a 40 or 50? Does it have the ALT button?

Anyhow, before takeoff, follow the preflight checks in the manual. Doing so SHOULD give you good hint as to the operation.

As with the other S-TEC autopilots it is rate based off the turn coordinator.

Simplest is to just push the big knob. It will hold everything straight and level at the point you engage it. You can do turns with the knob.

For HDG mode, dial the bug up on the DG/HSI to where you want and push the big knob again, it should follow the BUG. For NAV mode, set up your radio and primarily indicator (HSI or CDI) and then press NAV.

If you have a 50, pressing ALT will hold the altitude. If you don't have electric trim, it will beep at you and flash the UP/DOWN lights to tell you it wants to be trimmed in that direction. If you do have electric trim, it will drive the trim as needed itself.

Get an instructor and get checked out with it. I fly a Cirrus with a 55, no alt preset but alt hold. Every once in a while it does some funky stuff, but it is 14 years old and needs some love. You have to keep your eye on George.

Yea doesn't get much more straight forward. Like Ron said, put it in test mode before departure, then to on. Do what Ron said except I never use the Nav mode, I always keep it in Apr mode as that keeps it more centered on the CDI.