Drop Zone to Centerline in 2 minutes.

Came across this video on AVweb. I am a total newbie, hoping to start PPL lessons soon. How would you characterise this pilots maneuver? Skilled or reckless?

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=20a_1355531018
Welcome, and that's a crazy video. What I can't figure out is why an old video is suddenly popping up everywhere, especially on this site.

I'd personally call it skilled, as he's obviously done it a lot, as there's many videos of him out there. He's also very careful of keeping tabs on his meat-bombs and staying away from them.

Very few pilots fly their machines to the edge of the performance envelope. Obviously this guy flies this profile many times a day and has it down. There is little room for error as he nears the pattern, and that is where the safety margin narrows, but as long as nothing falls off he has the energy to make the landing even if he loses an engine. In the meat bomb business time is money.

From this point forward, using that song as "dramatic" music for your video is hereby prohibited unless your name happens to be Jeb Corliss.

For the most part looks like he was just doing an emergency descent for altitude loss. He definitely was definitely keeping an eye out for meat bombs. He entered the pattern on a 45. Looked like he was talking. Hopefully, position reports. He definitely has made that landing many times before. To a new pilot, that is a pretty extreme and exciting landing. Also, a landing that requires everything to be working properly.

Thank you for the video.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Yawn, another a day dropping jumpers. Used to tell the folks that wanted to chicken out that the plane ride down is worse. And folks just because something is different then the King videos doesn't mean it is illegal and/or reckless.