Drop in Upgrade for Century II Autopilot?

Gray Ghost

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Gray Ghost
I have a 1965 Cessna P206. It is equipped with an Avidyne IFD-550 GPS and matching transponder. Otherwise, it has traditional vacuum/pitot-static instruments. It has a Century II autopilot that runs off the DG. I am wondering if there is a reasonable way to upgrade the autopilot, so it will take heading information from the IFD-550 and fly a flight plan. It would also be nice to have a drop-in replacement for the Century II that would drive the existing servos.

I am a absolute novice at this, so I appreciate any guidance.

I am wondering if there is a reasonable way to upgrade the autopilot, so it will take heading information from the IFD-550 and fly a flight plan.
Garmin G5 or GI275 can replace the DG and have the IFD steer the Century II. Another GI275 can replace the AI and provide attitude information to the Century II but the G5 does not have this additional capability.
It would also be nice to have a drop-in replacement for the Century II that would drive the existing servos.
This part does not exist.

Drop-in replacement is something rare in the a/p world. Bendix King offers this in a KFC150/230 swap. Your options in the affordable digital range seem to be really limited. Garmin GFC500 STC/AML covers only P206C onward and cannot paired with any Avidyne. S-TEC 3100, AeroCruz 100 and Trio do not cover any 206 model, so that is no option, too.

It has a Century II autopilot that runs off the DG. I am wondering if there is a reasonable way to upgrade the autopilot, so it will take heading information from the IFD-550 and fly a flight plan.