Do you carry a handheld radio?

I did...

until my son took it

:incazzato:

My Vertex VXA-710 is the only radio I have, so it usually goes along. I don't carry the 600C GPS unless I'm going more than an hour away from home. I wouldn't be too surprised to see Vertex come up with a Comm/GPS combo. They already sell an amateur radio handheld with a GPS built-in.

I don't have one. Every once and a while I think it might be handy to have one - one that would tune in a VOR might be nice. But I hardly use the radio that I have...

Handheld VHF and GPS are in the plane when I fly, both with good batteries. When I was a student the panel went dark when I was holding at the taxiway at the departure end of class C airport. I couldn't turn around - big jet behind me. Without the radio, I would have either sat there for a while waiting for the light gun, or climbed out and waved at the tower. The handheld made the whole thing a non event.

. . .Without the radio, I would have either sat there for a while waiting for the light gun, or climbed out and waved at the tower. The handheld made the whole thing a non event.

It would have been awesome if the tower staff just waved back. :cornut:

I do. Always nice to get ATIS before engine start and not with the aircraft battery on.

Had a complete electrical failure, 1 mile final, selected gear down, saw 3 green flash and everything went black on the panel. Daytime, but recycle the master, checked CBs, nothing. Saw the airplane in front of me clear, check the tower for a light gun, saw nothing and landed. Turned off the runway, dug out the hand held, told ground what had happened and taxied to parking with them.

Nice I had it on that flight.

A suggestion for those expecting to use a handheld radios for comms in an emergency -- test it before depending on it.