DME Arc Frustration

sferguson524

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
FormerSocalFlyer
I'm an instrument student and am pulling my hair out over DME arcs. My II was telling me that there is a time that you turn away from the arc before turning onto it, and i have been drawing it out, flying it in the sim, and still can't wrap my head around it. We even went out and flew it in the airplane, and i got it then, but promptly forgot. HELP!!! :mad2::mad2::mad2::mad2:

if the number is getting smaller turn away from the VOR, if the number is getting bigger turn towards the VOR. make no more than 10 degrees of heading change at a time, then pause and wait to see how that change affects the response.

if the number is getting smaller turn away from the VOR, if the number is getting bigger turn towards the VOR. make no more than 10 degrees of heading change at a time, then pause and wait to see how that change affects the response.

Precisely. Think about flying a many-sided polygon around the VOR since that's really the track you make using the "turn 10, twist 10" method. If you are to the inside of the arc (DME is going down), then either maintain heading or turn slightly away from the VOR depending on how far off you are. If you are outside of the arc (DME is going up), then turn further in toward the VOR and then re-establish yourself on the appropriate heading to maintain the arc when you're at the correct DME.

What book(s) are you using? The best one I've found is ASA's Instrument Flying for describing a DME arc. Sit down with the II and have him/her draw the procedure on paper, explaining as you go along.

And yes, you're actually flying away from the VOR the entire time until you turn to final. Why? Because you're flying little straight lines starting on a tangent to the 'arc' or circle around the VOR.

I'm using the Jepp books, and they really don't explain it all that well. I am just about ready for the checkride, and havent taken the written yet.