Discerning waypoint names when getting Clearances

FlyingMonkey

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
FlyingMonkey
I'm a new instrument rated pilot and have been filing all my flights IFR recently. Been doing a lot of cross country flying lately and going to unfamiliar airports. I do lots of homework before every flight, including reviewing all available approaches, low enroute IFR charts, VFR sectionals, and reading the AFD entry...typical "all available information" stuff.

However, I find it impossible to review all departure procedures out of an airport or memorize all nearby or possible enroute waypoints on charts...at some of these Class B and C airports there are dozens of DPs and I have also been given far different routing than what I file or what Foreflight suggests. When getting a clearance from clearance delivery there have been a few times where I just cannot understand the name of the waypoint I am being given and have asked them to spell it. It's usually just one waypoint out of the whole clearance and in the read back I have to say "I missed this waypoint."

Do you guys have any tips to avoid this situation? Is this common when at unfamiliar airports? Should I just be studying the charts a lot more before calling up clearance delivery?

I'm a new instrument rated pilot and have been filing all my flights IFR recently. Been doing a lot of cross country flying lately and going to unfamiliar airports. I do lots of homework before every flight, including reviewing all available approaches, low enroute IFR charts, VFR sectionals, and reading the AFD entry...typical "all available information" stuff.