Did something change WRT linked photos?

Experimenting with a poll

  • Choice A

    Votes: 1 100.0%
  • Choice A but in a different row

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    1
  • Poll closed .

Jim K

Final Approach
PoA Supporter
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
5,338
Location
CMI
Display Name

Display name:
Richard Digits
I have one of those silly little states visited maps in my signature. When I go to the link, it works, when I preview my signature it works, but when I post I get the little red x'd out picture. It worked up until a couple days ago. Did something change on POA's end?
I
I
I
V
 
Test, I have the same thing.

Mine appears, it's probably the source file at the other end was removed?
 
Test, I have the same thing.

Mine appears, it's probably the source file at the other end was removed?
When I copy&paste the url into my browser it works. Maybe I have it cached? I'll admit to being something of an internet dunce.
 
Our URLs don't look the same. Mine is hosted off imgur, it looks like yours is from epgsoft.com. Perhaps they did a purge of old maps or dropped the ability to dynamically create it?

Sometimes in IT, it's not worth knowing the answer, just punt and create a new one. If you save it as a jpeg and upload it to to a website like imgur, you'll have a stable copy

Visited States Map - Create a visited states map | epgSoft

I seem. epgSoft changed the URL on their end. Just go generate a new map and get the new URL.

Yours
....image=https%3A%2F%2Fepgsoft.com%2FVisitedStatesMap%2Fget_us_map.php%2FVisitedStatesMap.jpg%3Fheight%3D75%26format%3Djpg%26Submit%3D%26states%3DIL.KY.GA.TN.FL.AR.IN.MO.TX.IA.WI.MN%2C+MI&hash=f79a16257f591a00f1cc704da1e59a5c

mine
....image=https%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FHZYNujZ.jpg&hash=f1d1aee51d3c790b9ec512ba4cb4ae6c

New URL: images/visited-united-states-map.php?states=IN,NC,SC,GA,VA,MD&height=100&format=png
 
Last edited:
Our URLs don't look the same. Mine is hosted off imgur, it looks like yours is from epgsoft.com. Perhaps they did a purge of old maps?

Sometimes in IT, it's not worth knowing the answer, just punt and create a new one.

Visited States Map - Create a visited states map | epgSoft

Yours
....image=https%3A%2F%2Fepgsoft.com%2FVisitedStatesMap%2Fget_us_map.php%2FVisitedStatesMap.jpg%3Fheight%3D75%26format%3Djpg%26Submit%3D%26states%3DIL.KY.GA.TN.FL.AR.IN.MO.TX.IA.WI.MN%2C+MI&hash=f79a16257f591a00f1cc704da1e59a5c

mine
....image=https%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FHZYNujZ.jpg&hash=f1d1aee51d3c790b9ec512ba4cb4ae6c
Yeah, I'm trying that now. One of the reasons I really liked the epgsoft map is that you can add states by simply adding the 2 letter abbreviation, you don't have to regenerate the map and get a new link or download it.

It appears now I have only managed to break it worse.
 
Generating a new map link got me the same result. Weird. I guess the download upload dance is the easiest solution, it was just nice not having to do that every time we take a trip. Cuz ya know updating a map once or twice a year is just too much trouble for me lol.
 
Nothing changed on our end that I’m aware of. Agree with Brian, it’s probably the original source that changed or became corrupted somehow.
 
Nothing changed on our end that I’m aware of. Agree with Brian, it’s probably the original source that changed or became corrupted somehow.

I'm pretty sure they changed the php script they're using on their end.

This should be the right URL now.

Code:
http://www.epgsoft.com/visited-states-map/app/images/visited-united-states-map.php?states=IL,KY,GA,TN,FL,AR,IN,MO&height=100&format=png

But what is weird is that it still doesn't work. I even see the image when I'm typing the post, but it becomes a broken link when I post it.

visited-united-states-map.php


Inserting a screen shot of me editing this post:

upload_2021-10-6_9-38-6.png
 
I'm pretty sure they changed the php script they're using on their end.

This should be the right URL now.

Code:
http://www.epgsoft.com/visited-states-map/app/images/visited-united-states-map.php?states=IL,KY,GA,TN,FL,AR,IN,MO&height=100&format=png

But what is weird is that it still doesn't work. I even see the image when I'm typing the post, but it becomes a broken link when I post it.

visited-united-states-map.php


Inserting a screen shot of me editing this post:

View attachment 100692
Yep, same behavior for me. I just don't know enough about how this stuff works to diagnose it.
 
I'm pretty sure they changed the php script they're using on their end.

This should be the right URL now.

Code:
http://www.epgsoft.com/visited-states-map/app/images/visited-united-states-map.php?states=IL,KY,GA,TN,FL,AR,IN,MO&height=100&format=png

But what is weird is that it still doesn't work. I even see the image when I'm typing the post, but it becomes a broken link when I post it.

visited-united-states-map.php


Inserting a screen shot of me editing this post:

View attachment 100692
Not just those maps but also animated GIFs as well. This is from last Thursday:
https://www.pilotsofamerica.com/community/threads/3-planes-one-cup-err-hangar.134516/#post-3151657
And like you, it shows up just fine in the editor.
upload_2021-10-6_7-11-53.png
 
Test #1:
57a8074d99dd3_DC-8-71F_CentrePanel.thumb.jpg.88a256243afb72f212730d8e3b9b8eca.jpg


Test #2:
Carousel.gif


Test #3:
Sea-On-Land.jpg


Test #4:
5I6A8057.jpg


Code:
        <div class="messageContent">      
            <article>
                <blockquote class="messageText SelectQuoteContainer ugc baseHtml">
                  
                    Test #1:<br />
<img src="proxy.php?image=https%3A%2F%2Fxplanereviews.com%2Fuploads%2Fmonthly_2016_08%2F57a8074d99dd3_DC-8-71F_CentrePanel.thumb.jpg.88a256243afb72f212730d8e3b9b8eca.jpg&amp;hash=59dd544f5aaeab2268be314acd6e792b" class="bbCodeImage LbImage" alt="[&#x200B;IMG]" data-url="https://xplanereviews.com/uploads/monthly_2016_08/57a8074d99dd3_DC-8-71F_CentrePanel.thumb.jpg.88a256243afb72f212730d8e3b9b8eca.jpg" /><br />
<br />
Test #2:<br />
<img src="proxy.php?image=https%3A%2F%2Fupload.wikimedia.org%2Fwikipedia%2Fcommons%2Fc%2Fc2%2FCarousel.gif&amp;hash=1aecb35a25c46db619347dbfb067da14" class="bbCodeImage LbImage" alt="[&#x200B;IMG]" data-url="https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c2/Carousel.gif" /><br />
<br />
Test #3:<br />
<img src="proxy.php?image=https%3A%2F%2Fupload.wikimedia.org%2Fwikipedia%2Fcommons%2F3%2F35%2FSea-On-Land.jpg&amp;hash=fb929f684bc3fc324d06b2bbd59662a2" class="bbCodeImage LbImage" alt="[&#x200B;IMG]" data-url="https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/35/Sea-On-Land.jpg" /><br />
<br />
Test #4:<br />
<img src="proxy.php?image=https%3A%2F%2Filovememphisblog.com%2Fsites%2Fdefault%2Ffiles%2Fstyles%2Fblog_single_image%2Fpublic%2Flegacy_drupal_7_images%2F5I6A8057.jpg&amp;hash=9389a2e65708e13b74527fdd27b974d7" class="bbCodeImage LbImage" alt="[&#x200B;IMG]" data-url="https://ilovememphisblog.com/sites/default/files/styles/blog_single_image/public/legacy_drupal_7_images/5I6A8057.jpg" />
                    <div class="messageTextEndMarker">&nbsp;</div>
                </blockquote>
            </article>
          
          
        </div>

Yeah, looks like proxy.php is having trouble with some sites.
 
Last edited:
Nothing changed on our end that I’m aware of. Agree with Brian, it’s probably the original source that changed or became corrupted somehow.

I don't think it is. It appears to be a board issue.
 
Yeah, looks like the editor bypasses the proxy.
Code:
<div>
   
        <textarea name="message_html" id="ctrl_message_html" class="textCtrl MessageEditor BbCodeWysiwygEditor " style="display:none; height: 260px;" data-css-url="css.php?style=3&amp;css=editor_contents&amp;d=1633482216" data-dialog-url="index.php?editor/dialog&amp;style=3" data-auto-save-url="threads/did-something-change-wrt-linked-photos.134606/save-draft" data-options="{&quot;autoSaveFrequency&quot;:&quot;30&quot;,&quot;bbCodes&quot;:[]}">&lt;p&gt;[QUOTE=&amp;quot;bflynn, post: 3154083, member: 11472&amp;quot;]But what is weird is that it still doesn&amp;#039;t work.&amp;nbsp; I even see the image when I&amp;#039;m typing the post, but it becomes a broken link when I post it.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.epgsoft.com/visited-states-map/app/images/visited-united-states-map.php?states=IL,KY,GA,TN,FL,AR,IN,MO&amp;amp;height=100&amp;amp;format=png&quot; class=&quot;bbCodeImage wysiwygImage&quot; alt=&quot;&quot; unselectable=&quot;on&quot; /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;Inserting a screen shot of me editing this post:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;[/QUOTE]&lt;/p&gt;</textarea>
        <noscript><textarea name="message" id="ctrl_message" class="textCtrl MessageEditor " style="height: 260px;">[QUOTE=&quot;bflynn, post: 3154083, member: 11472&quot;]But what is weird is that it still doesn&#039;t work.  I even see the image when I&#039;m typing the post, but it becomes a broken link when I post it.
[IMG]http://www.epgsoft.com/visited-states-map/app/images/visited-united-states-map.php?states=IL,KY,GA,TN,FL,AR,IN,MO&amp;height=100&amp;format=png[/IMG]
Inserting a screen shot of me editing this post:
[/QUOTE]</textarea></noscript>
   
    <input type="hidden" name="_xfRelativeResolver" value="https://www.pilotsofamerica.com/community/threads/did-something-change-wrt-linked-photos.134606/add-reply" />
 
My sig pic is inop as well.

edit: and the problem developed after trying to change the linked pic.
 
People smarter than me figured it out. I just repeated it.
 
No. A work around is to do a screen capture of the image and upload it to imagur, then link to the image. But you have to regenerate the image each time you update it (and remember how to do it).
 
Now to go imgur and create another rarely utilized account.
 
I think you don't need an account. You just upload the file and make sure to copy the URL.
 
Any update on this? I figure with the new MC now might be a good time to bring it up again.
 
Yay, the new software fixed it!
Carousel.gif
 
Back
Top