Density altitude

Btl60

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Career pilot
Hello all,

I'm stuck on the reasoning of density at high altitudes. At high altitudes aircraft performance is decreased due too less density. What's contradictory is that the higher altitude the colder the air causing the air to be more dense. Can someone clear this situation up for me?

I'm currently studying aircraft performance and how high altitude, high temperature and high humidity decrease aircraft performance.

You're exactly right. It does get colder with altitude. However a major component in density altitude is pressure. And, with altitude, the density decreases due to pressure faster than it increases due to temperature.

There's also less pressure, which means fewer molecules.

I'll let the smarter people go into more detail.

Hello all,

I'm stuck on the reasoning of density at high altitudes. At high altitudes aircraft performance is decreased due too less density. What's contradictory is that the higher altitude the colder the air causing the air to be more dense. Can someone clear this situation up for me?

I'm currently studying aircraft performance and how high altitude, high temperature and high humidity decrease aircraft performance.

There's less air up there. It may be more dense than if it was 102F at the same altitude but there's still less of it than at sea level. Go hiking in Yellostone, your lungs will explain it.

Okay, my understanding now is that there is less gravitational pull at higher altitudes causing the air to dissipate.

Think of it as filling a beaker up with water. Whats down low is more dense. Ever dive in the ocean...what happens to your ears at 8-10 feet? That's the water density. The water has weight, air does too.

Same thing with air. There's more 'sitting on top of it' at lower altitudes so it's more dense.

No, that's water pressure. Water density varies with salinity, but VERY little with depth.