Deferring Marriage and a Family to fly professionally

Advice to a new airline pilot: "Find a woman you hate, give her your house and half your money, and get it over with."

I was never an airline pilot. Got married when I was an Air Force pilot in 1969. I really can't imagine looking for marriage advice online, but this has been an interesting thread. And, yeah... still married to the same person and still flying airplanes.

Well, you know pilots; always looking for an alternate, just in case....

I once worked briefly with a guy that was always chasing women. I asked him why he did that knowing he had a girlfriend. He replied, "every man has to have a plan B!"

A month later she left him while he was out of town at his mother's funeral and took a bunch of stuff with her including a nice check she wrote for herself out of his checkbook. :eek2:

Seems she also had a plan ... :rofl:

Nowhere in your post did you use the word love.

There is only one good reason to marry. Because you love her so much that you can't imagine life without her.

Been married 35 years. My life gets better every year.

Families are great, and kids are incredible. But I have friends with kids from failed marriages. At best, that situation is painful but manageable. At worst, it is a hell of custody and financial disputes.

Find the right one. It will hit you like a train when it happens.
I agree. Early in our dating, my now late wife found out that I had a goal of moving to Alaska and becoming a bush pilot, a volleyball coach, and a rocket scientist. Her big objection was that it was cold in Alaska. I thought maybe she could handle the cold until she got chilled walking through the store’s frozen food section.

I knew in a heartbeat that it was either Alaska or her, and I chose her. I kept my flying dream alive by flight simulating and got my A&P as well as my avionics line maintenance certificate at Embrey Riddle. She also paid for some flying lessons while I was looking for work