Crash near Kennesaw?

rbridges

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
rbridges
My daughter's boyfriend just sent me a text. Said a small plane crashed on campus about 30 minutes ago. That's all I know.

ksu crash.jpg

That won’t buff out

Heard the same from a friend that goes there. Tail number is N597CP. Cirrus sr22. Friend said they saw firefighters talking to someone inside plane so someone must be alive. Besides that it appears they pulled the chute & hit the tree on the way down.

Heard the same from a friend that goes there. Tail number is N597CP. Cirrus sr22. Friend said they saw firefighters talking to someone inside plane so someone must be alive. Besides that it appears they pulled the chute & hit the tree on the way down.

thanks. It's a pretty grainy pic, so I couldn't see much detail.

IMG_20181129_201900.jpg
Screenshot_20181129-221453.png

I'm also a student at Kennesaw State. Signed up to pitch in. No fatalities, both conscious, one was removed and the other was still in the plane by 8:30 when I took that photo from one of the campus buildings. The plane seems to have been in Nebraska 3 weeks ago. Also, it seems from the report that the parachute deployed and caused the plane to crash. Still a developing story.

Glad they appear to be okay. There’s not a lot of options if you have to set down after takeoff from RYY, especially if you’re departing from 27. The interstate would just about be your best and only option if departing from 9.

Engine failure according to the fire department. It was on it's way to Charlie Brown Field in Fulton County, GA from Omaha. 3 weeks ago...
Screenshot_20181129-221322.png

One of the local college students interviewed about it said he could smell jet fuel. See article. :rolleyes: