Crash enroute Oshkosh

OMG my heart sank when you posted this. I was offered a ride in a Bo from Cali to Osh Kosh to share expenses but I don't have that much vacation time at work. I thought it was my friend, one of the formation pilots.

It is not my friend, but still sad to read.

This is going to be a bit off topic, and I hope not taken in bad taste. I ask strictly because I don't know.

First off, I am glad these two men are alright. Sad to see the start of what I am sure was going to be an extremely fun vacation cut short.

That said, I am curious why in this forum there is so much talk of crashes. I am just getting into this world, and so many of what I see here is about the negative side of things.

If I was 15-16, went to a car forum to learn about driving before I got my license, and every auto accident was talked about in the forum, I might not ever get into a car. Somewhat unsettling as a new perspective pilot, to hear about a crash or two a day.

Why in this community, is it a common thing to post?

Because it is a reality of flying, and there is something to be learned from every accident.

It is a reality check. No matter how many hours and endorsements in your logbook, accidents can and will happen.

This is going to be a bit off topic, and I hope not taken in bad taste. I ask strictly because I don't know.

First off, I am glad these two men are alright. Sad to see the start of what I am sure was going to be an extremely fun vacation cut short.

That said, I am curious why in this forum there is so much talk of crashes. I am just getting into this world, and so many of what I see here is about the negative side of things.

If I was 15-16, went to a car forum to learn about driving before I got my license, and every auto accident was talked about in the forum, I might not ever get into a car. Somewhat unsettling as a new perspective pilot, to hear about a crash or two a day.

Three comments: