CPAP frustration - pulling my medical!

saddletramp

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
saddletramp
When I received my second class medical in September I told the flight physician that I had been using a cpap for 12 years. I was unable to get my old records so I ordered a in-home sleep study & after the study was read by a Dr I ordered a new machine.

I sent the info certified to the FAA & they received it on January 6, 2016. Today, I received a certified letter from them dated January 8th that I have 14 days to return my medical to them for non-compliance.

I realize my sleep study had arrived 2 days before their letter of non-compliance was sent out. I'm sure it takes time to process.

When you call the medical certification number you get put on hold & the phone is never picked up.

I emailed AOPA for help this evening.

Any other ideas? I really don't want to surrender my medical since I complied with their requests.

Last edited:
Yeah, that. And be 100% honest and forthright with him. He can smell BS from clear across the country.

FAA just started letting AMEs issue the SI for sleep apnea sometime last year. They might still be working out the bugs in the processing system. Doc Chein is the guy.

Definitely call Bruce; he has the direct-dial numbers.

Remind me how the use of a cpap machine affects flying?
Has anyone had an incident from this? Hope it's not excessive governmenting.

It is. It is another example of "we would rather you remain undiagnosed and die from health issues."

CPAP Should be seen as a sign of a safer pilot, if the FAA had any intelligence. CPAP means you won't be narcoleptic.

I use a CPAP and not sure it matters that much. The reason I had the test was because of snoring not because of daytime tiredness. I average about 7 hours a night and use my machine 95%+ of the time. What I hate is the days when I wake up after sleeping 5 hours am rested and have to lay there an hour to get the 6 hours in.