Cost of Avionic Install

BARRY BORUTSKI

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Avionics Unlimited
When i read the post by someone that stated they paid $800.00 in labour....i felt i had a duty to enlighten. I am a retired Canadian Avionic Tech...still holding a valid E21 Canadian Licence.
The most hours a technician could squeeze out of a G5 Installation is 2 or 3 hours....after installing CB and connecting the lights...well.....time to cruise the net for the next 2 hours....

It is a crime for a shop to charge that. I have been building Garmin Harness Assy for the past 2 years now. Last project was for a...complete...G3 system...all interconnected to the multiple Avionic Units for $2200.00 USD.....complete harness flowed imto Aircraft as a continous loop..hook up pwr..gnd...DONE...

Its so sad that shops are taking advantage of pilo

In defense of whoever installed the G5, potentially, not all G5 installations are equal. In a certified plane, besides the paperwork, the G5 either needs to be connected to a WAAS navigator or needs a GPS antenna installed. If it is a DG, it will need the GMU11 mounted and wired. If it is an HSI, it needs the GMU11 and GAD29 mounted and wired. If there is a plastic panel overlay, that needs to be cut and fit to the G5. If it is going to be flush mounted, the panel needs to be cut and the flush mount adapter mounted to the panel.

We are fortunate in our part of the world. We have an absolute top notch avionics shop 49 nM from our airport that doesn’t gouge on price, very good and very fair. Southern hospitality at its best.

Not sure which thread it’s being referenced here, but when I had my G5 s installed , it noticed first hand how much work it was with everything Jesse mentioned. I think I had a bargain back then , some shops charge a whole lot more. My shop is 8 miles away, good guy, charges you per install, not hour.

I am going to miss him when I move from here.... but I will be lot closer to Jesse