Correct way to pick up the wing in a stall

gil_mor

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
gil_mor
Hi all,
One of the things I like the most when working with a different CFI is the different opinions about things.

Today, we did stalls.
As a student I was thought - pick the low wing with the rudder.

CFI: "Use aileron, otherwise you could enter a spin"
Me: "Adding that rudder is will cause the lowered wing to move fwd, get more lift and raise to normal".
CFI: "On 172's the stall starts on the root of the wing, use ailerons.
Me: "You are the CFI, I do as you say.

What do you guys say?

Go back to your first CFI.

Hi all,
One of the things I like the most when working with a different CFI is the different opinions about things.

Today, we did stalls.
As a student I was thought - pick the low wing with the rudder.

CFI: "Use aileron, otherwise you could enter a spin"
Me: "Adding that rudder is will cause the lowered wing to move fwd, get more lift and raise to normal".
CFI: "On 172's the stall starts on the root of the wing, use ailerons.
Me: "You are the CFI, I do as you say.

What do you guys say?

What do you guys say?

I guess most of us (including high time CFIIs on this board) are doing it wrong. The others here can explain the physics of why it's better to use the rudder.

I'm almost dieing to hear about his opinion on slipping the 172 with full flaps.:D

Did using ailerons put you into a spin?
Reality trumps opinion.

Did using ailerons put you into a spin?
Using rudders sure put me into a spin (once). Using ailerons never put me into a spin. So...

Mind, I actually agree with the primacy of rudder. However, if Gil is as inept as I am, it may be safer for him to rely on ailerons. This flies in the face of the Internet Forum Wisdom, and if you are a better stick and rudder man you may never believe it, but his instructor may have a point.

Ok, found the answer (in the Airplane Flying Handbook)
When the airplane is in a stalled condition, the