Complex Endorsement/Arrow Checkout

momalley

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
momalley
I want to get checked out in my clubs Arrow so I can use it for some 300nm or so cross countries. Due to the last Arrow being gear up'd insurance now requires 15hrs dual before I can be PIC.....Here is my question/dilemma...

I am a newly minted pilot with just under 70 total hours. I was anticipating starting my IR training next fall (2015). Should I just bite the bullet and start my IR training now to get some more value out of the required 15hrs or stick with my original plan?

Thanks,
Mike

I want to get checked out in my clubs Arrow so I can use it for some 300nm or so cross countries. Due to the last Arrow being gear up'd insurance now requires 15hrs dual before I can be PIC.....Here is my question/dilemma...

I am a newly minted pilot with just under 70 total hours. I was anticipating starting my IR training next fall (2015). Should I just bite the bullet and start my IR training now to get some more value out of the required 15hrs or stick with my original plan?

Thanks,
Mike

I'm not sure how much of the 15 hours will be needed to learn the systems of a complex aircraft, but I'm told 5 hours or so should be enough. That leaves 10 hours of "practice" with things you've already learned. As long as you have things under control, I don't see any reason why you couldn't learn the instrument scan (step 1 in most IR lesson plans) in pretty much any airplane. (Especially since my impression of complex ops is that they're pretty different in takeoff/landing, but not much different in cruise.) Provided the panel isn't too different from what you'd take the bulk of the IR lessons in (ie, glass vs steam gauges), I'd think the skills would carry over well.