Complete Newbie- questions regarding travel from CA to MT

rgshredder

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
RGShredder
Hi all, I've been thinking about learning to fly for some time now- finally have the funds to invest but I wanted to ask before I got too excited-

We have a house in Montana (Outside of Anaconda) and flying out of Sacramento CA is a pain as it's typically about 8-12 hours of travel via two planes and car travel from the closest major airport (missoula) in Montana.

The primary goal for attaining my license is to be able to fly 2 adults (including myself) and 2 toddlers (<4 years old).

I'd fly out of Davis, C
[SIZE=+1]A and into Riddick Field Airport in Philipsburg MT.

I know this is a long shot but has anyone ever done this?

If someone who is more knowledgable than myself can comment on what the travel time and costs incurred (roughly) would be (not including road travel) or point me to a way for me to figure it out, I would greatly appreciate it.

Also, is this feasible for me to get my licence and shortly thereafter fly this terrain/distance?

My sole intention to learn to fly is to have fun and fly this route about 10 times a year (among other flights around CA). I most likely wouldn't get my license if I couldn't do this flight and just accept that travel to and from Montana will always be a pita.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide

[/SIZE][FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][SIZE=+1][/SIZE][/FONT]

so in regards to costs, I did review airnav.com and found the distance to be about 600nm; 1 stop would be needed to refuel with the assumption of getting 400nm comfortably

does this site provide accurate numbers?

probably get 15nm/gal at roughly $6 a gallon on a rented plane- about $250 in fuel one way

plus the cost of the rental $100/day
plus the cost of storage at the hanger $50/day

Travel time is about 6 hours going 105 nautical miles per hour?

are these estimates reasonable?