Compensation

U

Unregistered

This story is more or less true, but I changed some of the less important details to preserve my anonymity.

I am a new pilot, with well under a hundred hours. A few weeks ago, I mentioned to a work colleague that I had gotten my ppl and we talked about going for a spin around the area sometime.

A few nights later, he called and asked about a trip from our home base (in Iowa) to the Rapid City, SD area, so he could attend to a family emergency. I was interested in getting some flight hours, and interested in visiting that part of the country, so I agreed. I rented a plane from my club. He reimbursed me for 1/2 of the wet fee for the one-way leg of the trip. He offered to pay all of the expenses, but I refused. I left him near Rapid City and flew back home. I think he took a rental car back home a few days later (approx. 11 hour drive).

Three questions:

1) OK to take compensation for 1/2 the one way trip wet fee?

2) Would it have been OK if he had reimbursed me for 1/2 of the wet fee for the round trip, even though he wasn't on board for the trip back to Iowa?

3) Fast forward to yesterday: He dropped off a birthday gift for me (even though we don't normally exchange gifts) -- a pretty expensive tablet -- and he thanked me for helping him get to SD to deal with the emergency. OK to accept?

Thanks for your input.

I wouldnt worry about it, who investigating you? The only time i'd actually worry about it is if you were advertising yourself to fly people around.

Hell yeah it is OK, would be rude not to accept it. It is a free country.

If you abide by the strict interpretation of the regs, this is not OK. It would have been different if you had a conversation with him saying that Hey I'm going to Rapid City tomorrow and he said, well, I need to be in Rapid City, too. Then it would be fine. Although not OK by the regs, I agree it is unlikely that you will be caught and punished for this.