Communicating ICAO Equipment Codes to ATC

Discussion in 'Change to my Frequency...' started by Palmpilot, Oct 4, 2017.

  1. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14,788
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    When calling ATC for flight following, practice approaches, etc., they used to want to know whether we were /A, /G, or whatever. Now that domestic flight plan forms are going away, how should pilots convey this information? The ICAO equipment codes seem like they might be kind of cumbersome for this purpose.
     
  2. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    15,024
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    You say /A or /G or whatever. The controllers don't see all the lovely ICAO codes. Their computer maps them into the traditional ones.
     
    Palmpilot likes this.
  3. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8,227
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    I’m surprised they cared even before. Equipment codes are irrelevant for VFR flight. I don’t tecall ever giving it or being asked to.
     
    dmspilot likes this.
  4. Ryanb

    Ryanb Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,023
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan
    Whatever program you use to file, should have a suffix box allowing you to select the appropriate equipment. If ATC asks, then simply tell them. It’s pronounced “slant alpha, slant uniform” etc., at least that’s how I’ve always said it.
     
    RDUPilot likes this.
  5. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14,788
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    How about when requesting a popup IFR clearance? I'm sure I've been asked when doing that.
     
    N1120A likes this.
  6. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14,788
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    Are those valid choices on an ICAO flight plan?
     
  7. dmspilot

    dmspilot En-Route

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,759
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    dmspilot
    Same
     
  8. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8,227
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    Sure. Once IFR, it becomes relevant, although I haven’t been asked that.
     
  9. Ryanb

    Ryanb Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,023
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan
    IIRC yes, I usually file my plans through FSS so I just verbally tell them.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2017
  10. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14,788
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    By the way, the scenario I mentioned is just an example. In the decommissioned VOR thread, Nate mentioned frequently having to tell ATC that he isn't equipped for some of the direct clearances that he receives while IFR.
     
  11. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9,289
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    Almost positive the computer "FIDO" requires an equipment suffix or it won't spit out a code for VFRs. We used to just put /U if the pilot didn't provide it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2017
  12. roncachamp

    roncachamp Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    De Pere, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Steven P McNicoll
    If the flight is entered into the Flight Data Processing computer an equipment suffix indicating a transponder must be entered or the computer will not assign a beacon code. If the pilot didn't state the code I just entered /U.
     
  13. N1120A

    N1120A Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1120A
    I can see where they would care for VFR that was navigating a Class B or something, cause they can issue GPS vectors.
     
  14. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    15,024
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    What is a "GPS vector?"
     
  15. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14,788
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    I've always been given compass vectors, even when I'm /G. :)
     
  16. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,000
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Like said above a suffix code is usually needed to get a code 'assigned' in the 'system.' Not always depending on the Facility. Some can just give you a 'non discrete' code, ending in 00, identify you and provide service. They can also do this with 'discrete' codes in a 'block' assigned to them making sure they don't duplicate one that is already being used to 'track' a plane in the 'system.' If your going to leave their airspace and get handed off they'll usually want to get you on a 'discrete' code and entered into the 'system.'
     
  17. N1120A

    N1120A Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1120A
    Tell you to fly "direct POPPR" or whatever GPS waypoint.
     
  18. roncachamp

    roncachamp Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    De Pere, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Steven P McNicoll
    That's not a vector.
     
  19. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    16,859
    Location:
    Behind you!
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    When I get flight following and I normally in include it in my type.

    "Requesting flight following present position direct XYZ, 6,500, and were a PC12 slant G"
     
  20. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8,227
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    I've received "direct" to an airport, waypoint, or fix from ATC even while /U...and IFR.
     
  21. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    15,024
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    Direct POPPR isn't a vector. As far as ATC is concerned, /G implies you can take off-airway routes like that. Otherwise, they might give a vector and "Direct POPPR when able."
     
    midlifeflyer likes this.