Commercial maneuvers in an SR20

alfadog

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
alfadog
Finally wrapped up my IR a few weeks ago in the usual run of crappy C172's. Decided to treat myself to some Cirrus time as a school I flew with last year just picked up a 2015 SR20. Air conditioning, Perspective panel, etc. The fellow that runs the school likes to deeply discount new aircraft for a bit so the rate, $125/hr dry, is too appealing to pass up. The only glass time I have was in a light sport with Dynon panels back in 2011 and I have no Cirrus time at all.

I've done now about 3 hours dual of the 5 required to rent it solo. We have been working on commercial maneuvers. I, obviously, have no experience in this a/c and little doing the maneuvers and the CFII has not done them in the Cirrus.

And words of wisdom are welcome.

IMG_20180831_160504333.jpg

The maneuvers aren’t aircraft specific so just pretend you are in a 152.

I am a flight instructor primarily teaching in Cirrus aircraft. There's nothing exceedingly special about doing commercial maneuvers in them over a 172, you just have to be paying attention because a nose down attitude will have you picking up speed a bit faster.

I am a flight instructor primarily teaching in Cirrus aircraft. There's nothing exceedingly special about doing commercial maneuvers in them over a 172, you just have to be paying attention because a nose down attitude will have you picking up speed a bit faster.
^^^^^this^^^^^^

Ask me how I know but it was in a Mooney. I was practicing Lazy-8's and was slow coming off the power over the top, focused on keeping the ball centered, once it pointed down it was in the yellow arc screaming towards VNE like a hot knife through butter.

Just remember that a properly executed chandelle will be entered from straight and level flight at normal cruise speed and exited at a higher altitude, on the reciprocal of the initial heading, and at parachute deployment speed.

^^^^^this^^^^^^