Commercial knowledge test

Witmo

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Tim
Commercial test expired after the two year date so I had to spring for a new one. Didn't have a singe ADF question but I must have had around six questions on determining the time enroute to a VOR by turning (10 degrees) off course and timing how long it takes to center the CDI. Some questions even asked to use the procedure and take it a step further and determine fuel to the station. I've been flying for thirty years and have never needed this stupid procedure and if I were IFR, I certainly wouldn't exceed the airway's limits. I'm just curious, has anyone ever used the procedure for determining time to a vor by turning off course and timing? You would think that the commercial test would have some questions on the privileges and requirements for exercising commercial privileges--not a single question (100 question test).

They have to have a few ridiculously outdated questions so you don't score a perfect 100%.;)

They have to have a few ridiculously outdated questions so you don't score a perfect 100%.;)