comments from CFI's wanted

classicrock

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
acousticguitar
I had an lesson scheduled this day. I am a VFR private pilot in training I checked 800wxbrief and it said there was a convective sigmet issued in my area(SE Texas-my departure airport is KSGR. the TAF reported MVFR: showers in the vacinity before, during, and after the time of lesson

would you have gone forward with the lesson today. we would have practiced the slow flight manuever

comments from CFI's?

Attachments

• TAF on this day.jpg
    TAF on this day.jpg
    156 KB · Views: 32
  • convective sigment issued on this day.jpg
    convective sigment issued on this day.jpg
    115.4 KB · Views: 47
How did it look out the window?

Exactly. MVFR could be up to 3000' and 5 miles vis. I'd check radar, look out the window, and if ceiling>2000', I'd go. Could be a good day to practice ground reference maneuvers. Stalls and slow flight, maybe not.

I would have showed up to the airport, and determined whether to fly or not on how the weather looked at that moment.

Forecasts are pretty much useless.

which window? what window?

I mean how did it look at the airport.

For slow flight and basic PPL maneuvers you just need the local airport area to be VFR or maybe even the high end of MVFR, don't need CAVU statewide or anything to just go up and work on PPL stuff.

I would have showed up to the airport, and determined whether to fly or not on how the weather looked at that moment.

Forecasts are pretty much useless.

That sounds about right. And if the weather deteriorates, do a ground lesson.

Never a wasted day.

Exactly. MVFR could be up to 3000' and 5 miles vis. I'd check radar, look out the window, and if ceiling>2000', I'd go. Could be a good day to practice ground reference maneuvers. Stalls and slow flight, maybe not.