Comeback Pilot with Questions

INTJ

Ejection Handle Pulled
Display Name

Display name:
INTJ
I was a USAF pilot from 1983-2007. Between staff tours, medical issues, and non-flying combat HQ deployments; I would up with 3400ish hours in the C-130, T-38, and T-1. My last flight was Dec 2004 in a T-1. I left the service with Gulf War Syndrome so I thought my flying days were over, but a couple months ago I managed to get a special issue Class III--took about six months from the date of the flight physical. Next year I should be able to start flying again. I am currently in the middle of relocating right now and have no time with the current commute to work.

Since My USAF fini flight I have only touched the stick three times: an hour in a Stinson, 15 minutes in a Seminole, and 10 minutes in a CJ4; none of it logged. The good news is the flying skills are still there, though I DO need a refresher on the rules. I plan to take an online ground school to get back up to speed. I did get some FAA ratings along the way: Commercial, single and multi engine, instrument, L-382 (C-130) type. I should have got a type for the Beech 400 (T-1), but I didn't.

The civilian aircraft I have logged time in include: Tomahawk, Warrior, Archer, Mooney Executive, Tiger, Cherokee 140; though I don't remember much about any of them. I have 70 hours in SEL planes.

I am looking to buy a plane in the next year or two. I have considered a lot of options from homebuilts to light twins. I am settling in on high performance singles. I am leaning toward a low tail Lance, maybe a Saratoga. Trying to keep purchase price around $100k or less and expecting to spend about $1k a month for hangar, insurance, annual. If this is going to be anything other than a personal toy, it absolutely has to be comfortable to get in, sit in, and get out of--or the wife doesn't come along. Seems like the Lance/Saratoga win there.