Columbia Flying

Lance F

En-Route
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
Lance F
This is an interesting trip. I try to always be in a learning mode flying, and this week will give me some good opportunities.

A couple of hours ago we landed in Medellin, Columbia coming from Opa Locka FL. Field elevation is about 8,000' and there are mountains everywhere. It was visual today so you could see the terrain in relationship to the ILS procedure we flew. It gives new meaning to keeping the needles centered as well as carefully briefing the approach before starting it. There's just no room for error.

Tomorrow will be my first real (non sim) high, hot and heavy take off. Going to Cali or Bogota which aren't far.

This is my first time in Columbia The US State Dept has a travel alert for Columbia so I don't know how much the other pilot and I will get out to see. From the air and the drive into the city, everything looks very pretty. With the altitude it's only about 77 deg now. I'd like to take a walk around. We're at the Intercontinental and they do have an armed guard at the entrance gate.

This is fun stuff. The trip should get ack Monday so I still am planning in Sun n Fun..

Keep a low profile and travel in pairs at a minimum. A buddy of mine got jacked at an ATM in Columbia (Bogota) when nobody was watching his back. Of course the robbery was about five years ago so maybe it's gotten better.

I hear Columbia is way better now that the Narcos have moved into Mexico wholesale. Jealous am I. I'd love to visit Columbia.

Even with all thats happening in mexico, the odds of your regular joe getting jacked over there are way less if not equal than getting jacked by being on the wrong side on the tracks on any US metropolitan area. Drug wars are wars involving drug people.

I would say, enjoy your time abroad and just don't be stupid.