Cockpit visits?

Eagle I

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Kat
I hope I'm posting in the right section, but I have a question about the possibility of poking my head into the cockpit of an airliner, once it's on the ground, of course. I often look at the photos on airliners.net, and there seem to be quite a few cockpit shots, but I'm never sure whether they were taken by crew or not. The reason I'm asking is that I'll be flying to Germany next month on a Lufthansa 747 and would love to see the cockpit. In this post-9/11 world, I'm not sure what the chances of that are. I know I have virtually no chance of getting to see it based on my looks or charm:D, but I do have two things in my favor: I speak relatively good German, at least by American tourist standards, and I'm a student pilot training on a German-designed plane (the Flight Design CTLS). Does anybody have any ideas or advice, or can you share any experiences trying to do the same thing?

I flew commercial A LOT in the the pre 9/11 world. Once I happened to sit in the cabin next to a Southwest pilot and we talked flying all the way to our destination. He told me if I ever see him, to say hello and he would give me the grand tour. I actually did see him a few months later and he fulfilled his promise. That was probably circa 1996.

Post 9/11 more of my commercial travel has been to Europe than not, and most of those trips were Delta to Stuttgart or American to Rhein Main. Only about half that time I was in First Class where I could even see the cockpit door, but when I was, it was pretty much secured. I personally would not have felt comfortable asking them for the tour.

As far as speaking German to the crew, I am quite certain that you will find their English to be absolutely fluent and probably better than mine. I did lots of business all over Europe from 2000 to 2003 and it was extremely rare to deal with professional people who didn't speak English as good or better than myself.