Class D airspace

loch1957

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
James
I fly out of a non towered airport but today I got thrown a curve. My CFI took me to Dallas Executive to do touch and gos. Flying the pattern at a controllers request is odd to say the least. It was easier than I expected, my CFI said I only dropped the plane once so I could fly the mic. It seems the more I learn the more I realize I dont know enough yet. I'm loving every minute!!!!

KRBD is a nice place... there's a good eatery on the field if you get hungry and are ready to take a break.

Come visit KAFW or KDTO sometime!

Congrats on class D.

Like class d ,they watch the traffic for you most of the time.

If you get a chance to stop next time - call the tower and ask if they have a few minutes for you to come up for a visit.

My CFI told them I was a student, they seemed to mix it up for my benefit. I enjoyed it a lot, well until he called my base and let me fly down wind for ever and had me do a 360 so a jet could depart. I defiantly need more practice, on my own with no CFI last thing I want is to get frustrated. I need to relax more, I just don't want to be an idiot up there.

Just remember the magic words, "student pilot". Your CFI used them and you saw the difference. I got great treatment from controllers whernever I felt I needed to use those words.

Just remember the secret to getting to Carnegie Hall.

And enjoy these times.

im the opposite of you. i fly out of a busy class D airport and get nervous when i fly to uncontrolled fields.

im the opposite of you. i fly out of a busy class D airport and get nervous when i fly to uncontrolled fields.

Yep, my class D students freak out over non-towered fields, and my non-tower students freak out over class D. Eventually, they all master both.