chronically low vacuum indication

GeorgeC

Administrator
Management Council Member
Display Name

Display name:
GeorgeC
My plane has two venturis, one on each side. I've been hunting a low vacuum indication, on and off, since 2021.

My first questions were about basic stuff: filter, regulator, are the hoses ancient and cracked... I think they adjusted some things and it got better for a little while, but the issue eventually recurred.

I had a different shop look at it again this year. The vac gauge itself tested good. They replaced a cracked fitting on the back of the AI, but I still got a low vac indication on the flight back.

When I got home, I noticed that the (plastic) drain plug on the right side venturi was missing some paint and I could turn it by hand. From this, I concluded that they'd at least opened it up and looked at it.

The (aluminum) drain plug on the left side venturi had been painted over and was on good and tight. I don't think it's been off for 30 years. I removed the plug and cleaned it up.

I didn't have a flashlight to look inside for mud/dead bugs/etc. What's next? Bottle brush? Does it matter if the plugs are metal or plastic?

What's next?
Did the previous shops perform a leak check of the complete vac system?
Does each venturi power their own set of instruments?
What instruments are vac powered? P/Ns?
What size are the 2 venturi?
What's the reading on the indicator and is it steady or does it fluctuate?

Did the previous shops perform a leak check of the complete vac system?
Don't know.
Does each venturi power their own set of instruments?
Don't know, but there's only one vac gauge.
What instruments are vac powered? P/Ns?
AI & DG.
What size are the 2 venturi?
Not sure. Does this help?
IMG_E1096.JPG
What's the reading on the indicator and is it steady or does it fluctuate?
In flight, it reads steady at 3.5 or 4 or so. The green arc is 4.5-5.5.

Last edited:
There are at least 2 types of vacuum filters.