Checkride passed!

davef22

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Dave
Hi All,

Finally after a long time, my childhood dream has come true and I am now a private pilot :). I found some of the experiences and advice here very helpful and thank you for that. I thought I should just let you all know how it went.

Due to scheduling conflicts with the FAA Examiner and myself, we couldn't schedule earlier so Oct 30th was the big day.

10/29:

Flew with instructor after 2 weeks and everything looked good and then did the mock oral,IACRA etc. My instructor said to get a good night's rest and I updated my flight plan with weather but didn't really get enough time to do a last minute studying or revision which I would have liked to :) . Tossing and turning during the night and thinking about all kinds of questions the examiner can ask.

10/30: Got to the airport at 7:40 AM and got a standard briefing.

8:00 AM - Met with the examiner and we went over the paper work and it was a relaxed conversation about how long have I been training
and where I am from..etc

8:20 AM - The oral-exam starts:

1. Can you get paid when flying as a PPL? -
2. What documents the plane needs to have when flying?
3. He took the TAF's I had printed out and said..my wife is flying with me and she looks at it this paper and asks "what is this?".
I explained that it is an area forecast for a terminal within a 4nm radius.

He went back now for 3-4 minutes saying.."Yes but my wife is still confused and is asking what is this paper about?"

I then realized I had the METAR at the top with the TAF's and I didn't catch that initially and then I told him it is a METAR and it is a
weather observation". At this point he sighed and said "I thought for a second you didn't know what it was?"

4. He showed me a TAF and asked to interpret a line and asked what BR means?