Cheapest planes to rent at PDK

BrianNC

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
BrianATL
Those of you that live in the Atlanta area, what is the cheapest place to rent planes at PDK? I have to move in with my mother in law who lives just around the corner from PDK while our house is renovated for a couple of months.

I fly a nicely equipped 172 in a flying club now in Thomaston that is $85 an hour wet but I know I'm not going to get close to that. I've checked a few places like Lanier and it's off the charts. The 152 is $140 an hour and all the Cessnas $220 an hour. I would like to fly while I'm there and I don't want to drive and hour and a half back down to Thomaston every time I fly.

Or maybe you know some cheaper rentals somewhere other than PDK but not very far from there. Thanks for the info.

I'm just a lowly student pilot at Skybound, so I'll only make the observation that PDK is an expensive place to fly period. Sometimes its fine, but some days I've spent a very long time waiting in the conga line for my turn to depart, Hobbs meter clicking away the whole time...

I'm sure others can recommend better options for you than Skybound, but I will say the folks in the office are pretty nice. As far as I know, there's no daily minimum for overnight cross country. That said, I hear it can be tricky to get a 172 (or an Archer) overnight.

We're building a house in north Fulton and are moving in with inlaws when our lease is up in a few months until completion. Hope you guys stay on schedule - order windows ASAP!

Skybound isn't too bad. Anybody familiar with All2Fly? They have a good variety of planes and the rates are pretty reasonable. Checking Flightaware their planes seem to fly a lot. And their cheapest 172s with G430 are $155 which isn't bad. And they have an Arrow for $159 an hour but doesn't appear to have a GPS. Just says 'standard' for the plane as far as avionics.