Cheaper Ways to Earn PPL

bqmassey

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Brandon
Hey everyone! I'm a college student from Lincoln, NE. Being a college student I am inherently broke, but I would really like to start flight lessons. I've been wanting very badly to fly for many years. As an Air Force brat it was my life goal to fly for the military, but I can't qualify medically.

Now I'm in my third year of college, and still not flying. I haven't been able to afford it the four or five years that I've been old enough to fly. Every birthday I tell myself I'm going to be a pilot before my next, and it's just never happened.

Additionally, I joined the Civil Air Patrol. There are a lot of things one can do to help in this organization, but my squadron was just recently formed and could use more members and pilots.

I'm asking for help from all of you to help me come up with some ways to pay for flight training (or earn it somehow). I'm looking for something a little more creative than "save up the money and then do it". If I resort to that, it will be a very, very long time before I can make it happen.

Note: My current job is a weekday job. I am absolutely prepared to take a part-time weekend job to be able to fly.

Here are the ideas that I've been able to come up with:
  • Start and finish ground school now. Take out a loan when I'm finished and hit the lessons hard, and make monthly payments for the next couple of years.
  • Try to talk an FBO into letting me trade weekend work for lessons
  • Try for a scholarship (although I hear there really aren't that many)
My ideas aren't very creative, but that's all that I've been able to come up with. I think I'm leaning most towards the top one so far. I'd like to make the most of my flight time, since that's the expensive part. If completing groundschool prior to flying will help me get my license in fewer hours, that be great.