Changing N Number

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by Hang 4, Apr 14, 2019.

  1. Hang 4

    Hang 4 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    385
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Hang 4
    My plane has an all numeric N number. It's kind of a pain to repeat every time I call ATC and I reserved an N Number that has some significance. My wife and I have the same initials (KS) and our anniversary is available so I forked over $10 to reserve the number. Got some points for that.

    Question is, what's involved in changing over besides sending application and $$ to the FAA and physically changing the numbers on the fuselage? Any Gotcha's? Does the timing need to be carefully managed, like getting the new registration and changing it over right away? Anyone have some actual experience with a switch.
     
  2. Ryanb

    Ryanb Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,060
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan
    Following.

    As a question that I have on this subject:

    How would you then change the broadcasted N number within the transponder?
     
    Hang 4 likes this.
  3. SkyDog58

    SkyDog58 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12,532
    Location:
    My own special place.
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Canis Non Grata
    You will need to have your airworthiness certificate updated. The FSDO will do it for free.
     
    Hang 4 likes this.
  4. Unit74

    Unit74 Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,760
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Unit74
    In AR, your gonna have to explain to the state that you didn’t buy a new plane, just changed the number. They troll the FAA registrations monthly looking for money.
     
    Hang 4 likes this.
  5. Morgan3820

    Morgan3820 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,421
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Reno
    I too have an all numeric n number (N33372, tree, tree, tree, seven, two) and I have been wanting to change it since the day I purchased the aircraft. I often miss calls from ATC because it does not stand out from all of the unrelated 'two's'. The local paint shop quoted me $2500 to change it. The rest is just paperwork as described. I am not sure I hate it $2500 worth. But maybe sometime in the future....
     
    Hang 4 likes this.
  6. flight2000

    flight2000 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    flight2000
    Here's the link to the FAA website that tells you how to do it. I can send you a word document for the letter I sent in to OKC for the approval if you want it as an example. I forgot how many days you have to get the AW certificate updated through the FSDO and new numbers applied, but it was a good period of time. I did mine while in the paint shop. It wasn't difficult, but took some time going through snail mail and waiting for them to process the paperwork.

    https://www.faa.gov/licenses_certificates/aircraft_certification/aircraft_registry/special_nnumbers/

    If you are ADSB compliant, you'll probably need an avionics shop to change the settings for you unless it can be done via a simpler method. Just depends on what you might have installed.

    Cheers,
    Brian
     
    Hang 4 and flyingcheesehead like this.
  7. BrianNC

    BrianNC Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BrianATL
    How about an aviation wrap for the N number? That could be cheaper.
     
  8. SixPapaCharlie

    SixPapaCharlie May the force be with you

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    13,811
    Location:
    North Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    6PC
    It's really easy. Don't have the number handy right now but there's a number for some folks in Oklahoma where you just pay the ten bucks and they handle everything you get a temporary and then your new one comes in the mail eventually. It's super simple
     
  9. Morgan3820

    Morgan3820 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,421
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Reno
    Maybe I'd really don't know much about it. I know some aircraft get a wrap. But I thought it was a whole plain thing. And don't you have to takeoff the old paint first.?
     
  10. BrianNC

    BrianNC Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BrianATL
    No, I know for sure it doesn't have to be a whole plane thing. But I don't know how they do it either.

    Here's a couple of sites. Just email them.

    http://aviationwraps.com

    https://www.planevinyl.com
     
  11. 916Bob

    916Bob Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    916Bob
    I changed mine last year. Timing was important but not difficult. You can't have mismatched numbers on the AC and plane. I did have to make an appointment to meet with someone at the local FSDO office. They wanted to know why I wanted to change the number. I was there a total of maybe 15 minutes. The individual I met with was quite nice and the whole thing was pretty painless.
     
  12. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22,194
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    We switched the club's R182 from N1710R to N271RG. The FAA link provided above is a good place to start. You need to apply for the new N number, have it put on the airplane, and actually interact with US Mail. Might want to Google how that works. ;)

    Theoretically you should have an avionics shop do it, but depending on your transponder model, Google may know how to do it too. It's a trivial change on something like a GTX 345 or 330ES, so even if you have a shop do it, it shouldn't cost much.

    Yes, but they won't tell you to do it... And it is a separate process from getting the new N number approved. Don't forget.
     
  13. Hang 4

    Hang 4 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    385
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Hang 4
    Wow, thanks - lots of things I didn't think of. Trying to figure how to do this with minimal grounding time and also to not mess up my instrument practical with something being half done and plane having a paperwork issue that stops it before it starts.

    Hadn't thought of;
    Transponder
    Greedy tax man
    Airworthiness cert.

    I think I have vinyl numbers on the plane now, should be able to peel them and get new matching ones. I expect the paint underneath might be a bit off color wise though from the existing numbers blocking UV. Will also be relocating to FL, so not sure if it's better to do this all in one big thing, or separate the change of address from change of N number.

    Guess I'll wait til Instrument gets knocked off and try to do it during september when plane goes into annual.
     
  14. SkyDog58

    SkyDog58 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12,532
    Location:
    My own special place.
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Canis Non Grata
    Oh but the web page the link takes you to does tell you to do it.
     
  15. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    16,199
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    First, unless you have MODE S, your transponder doesn't have a clue what your N number is.
    On a Mode S transponder, there are two things that need to be set. One is the Mode S identity code. That's an "installation time" setting. Depending on the transponder it's either coded in the tray or setup mode. In addition, there's the N-number. That's often settable from the front panel (it goes in the same field the airline flight number goes).