Cessna single retractable gear

bill834

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
billb
Hey guys,
I am new here.

What are folks thoughts and experience with Cessna singles retractable gear?

Nightmare or good, reliable system?

Thanks

I have limited experience in a 172 RG. It's been a long time but as I recall the extra weight made it climb like a turd. Mechanically the gear is complex, and partial gear landings REALLY suck.

Which Cessna?

172RG and 182RG are pretty robust systems, with just a few points/parts of modest concern for a reasonably well maintained plane. 210s can have issues, but with proper attention to rigging, they are readily manageable.

The biggest concern is Cessna is gradually reducing their support for some of the more critical replacement parts, and unless you can find reasonable salvage yard pieces, Cessna prices for some RG parts can approach unobtanium levels.

Depends on the model and year. I own a '76 Cardinal RG and am generally happy with the gear system, though I have had a couple of headaches. You can expect some increased maintenance costs, and if you don't inform yourself of possible gotchas and spend whatever it takes to deal with them, any retractable system can be a nightmare. But for the most part, the '76 (and later, from what I understand) Cardinal systems are fairly reliable.

I can't speak to other models.

I have limited experience in a 172 RG.

I've got about 25 hours in a 172RG, and thought it was a decent-performing bird if you treat it like 2 place or light 3-place plane. Reasonable fuel burn for the speed.

It's not as nice as some systems like the johnson-bar gear on early mooneys, as far as reliability goes. But it's not what I'd call a "nightmare" either. It's important to keep the system well maintained.

I never had a problem with the 172 retract, just a little slow in climb out.

just like any other retractable gear system they have weak points but generally work fine if maintained properly.