cessna 182a stabilizer play

josh shaw

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
js
I am new to this form, but I am looking to purchase a 57 c182a model and on my pre purchase discovered a very small lets call it 1/8 to 1/4 inch up and down play in the horizontal stabilizer two a&p say its ok or normal one does not think there should be any, all input here would be appreciated.
thank you
Josh

Is this a 182 with a Jack screw trim? if so, it is permissible to have a little looseness.
They can be repaired by replacing the Jack screw.
There are shouldn't be a looseness in the later version.

I would have the pre-buy listed and an Item to replaced.

Thank you for the quick reply, yes I believe this model utilizes the jack screw design however to clarify my question the play is felt when lifting the end of the stabilizer up and down gently (such as a cherokee stabilator preflight check), it was not in the trim systems regular range of motion where play was felt.

Thank you for the quick reply, yes I believe this model utilizes the jack screw design however to clarify my question the play is felt when lifting the end of the stabilizer up and down gently (such as a cherokee stabilator preflight check), it was not in the trim systems regular range of motion where play was felt.
Perfectly normal. The more recently you've had it rebuilt, the tighter it will be.

Make sure the "hockey stick" is in tact. It's a structural member just below and infront of the H-stab. - but that may only be on 180's, not 182's I'm not sure.

Is this a 182 with a Jack screw trim? if so, it is permissible to have a little looseness.
They can be repaired by replacing the Jack screw.
There are shouldn't be a looseness in the later version.

I would have the pre-buy listed and an Item to replaced.

Does it trim by moving the horizontal stabilizer itself instead of having a trim tab on the elevator?