Certified letter from Oklahoma City

Jeffythequick

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Jeffythequick
i was out with the family and my neighbor called and said I got a certified letter that she wasn't allowed to sign for.

Getting home, I found out that it's from OKC. Since I have to wait until Monday to find out what's in it, I figured I'd come here for some hope. (Yeah, I know...)

So, my situation is that this is my first attempt at class 3 medical, and I am T1 diabetic, in good control, have notes from my doctors for all of the things on my 8500-8.

What are the possibilities of what can be in a certified letter from the FAA for a first time applicant?

Last edited:
Not know why certified
Either they want more data
You've been denied
Or it's a special issuance approval for you to take to an AME so he can issue the medical

Not know why certified
Either they want more data
You've been denied
Or it's a special issuance approval for you to take to an AME so he can issue the medical

I ran a 5K race today, and I was pacing with this guy that asked if I was OK after the race was over, and found out that he's an AME that works where I do, and he told me that my company will pay for the cost for the AME (nice to know for the future). Anyway, I told him that I was wondering how the process went, and he said that, at best, I'd get a Special Issuance approval. It's just been a while since I saw the AME (that I paid for), so I was wondering what happens next...

I've never received my SI by certified mail. Usually it is a request for more info that requires proof of delivery to start the clock on your response. A denial will come by certified mail, also.

I'm betting they want more info or testing.

An SI just comes in with the regular mail. Never got a denial, but it probably comes in the regular mail, too. A request for more info will have a deadline, so it is probably a special delivery to prevent someone from saying they never got it.