Century 2000 Autopilot

Scott@KTYR

Pattern Altitude
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
Scott@KTYR
Does anyone in this group have a Century 2000 Autopilot?

I am thinking of upgrading my Altmatic IIIc to a new autopilot and would like to talk to someone about it.

I am thinking of upgrading my Altmatic IIIc to a new autopilot and would like to talk to someone about it.
My plane has it. What do ya want to know?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Hello WannFly,
How do you like it?
Pros
Cons
For the sake of disclosure, I am a student and don't have a whole lot of experience. Previous to this, I have used GFC700 in a 172 SP. Being in training, I don't use AP much.
Having said all that, when I got the plane we flew her on AP from billings to Bismark and then to fargo at night on AP at night and flew just fine, better than me ...lol. mine has ALT hold, no GPSS roll. It follows the magenta line pretty good. The only thing is when u turn it on and want to use GPS , u have to ensure the heading bug is on the right BRG, else it won't follow the GPS courseline. The ALT hold works pretty good. There is a up and down button for altitude which works too. I haven't seen it indicating if it would ask for trim. There is a control wheel steering as well, but I have never used it.

That's all I know as of now, I try not to fly on AP, hand flying is lot more enjoyable, but again I don't go for XC s yet. In one short one, I had pax, and it was rough air most of the way coming back, worked pretty well in that as well, but I was getting bored so I hand flew after about 20 mins.
Hope this helps. If u want any tech specs etc I can dig thru the books

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Thanks for your post. I was hoping to find someone with this unit and IFR rated. Trying to learn how it does on shooting approaches.

Thanks Again. Good luck with your training. Sounds like you have a good plane to work with.

Is Century your only option for upgrade?