career change

Benw

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Benw
I have been thinking about a career change. I am 29, I have a Bachelors in Psychology. I am thinking about getting my A&P and Avionics license. I am juggling between going to grad school for Aviation Psychology or getting the associates degree to work on planes.

My question: is there a graduate program in electrical something or other that I can also get my A&P license? to me, it seems like going back to school for an associates degree after already getting a Bachelors seems a little odd.

Some colleges may offer an Associates degree in conjunction with an A&P certificate, but there's no need to have any degree, the A&P is all you need.

Check your local community college for a A&P program. It's the cheapest route to go. There's technically no avionics certificate but some employers want to see an FCC certificate but in all the electrical/avionics work I've done as an A&P never needed it. No degree needed for A&P but you might luck out and find a CC that gives you best of all worlds. Good luck.

You can study for free to get the FCC General Radiotelephone Operator License which allows you to tinker with radios. The A&P can be had in 11-12 months at a good dedicated school. Missionary School of Aviation Technology (MSAT) in Ionia, MI comes to mind. There is another one in Indiana. Do it, do well, and see if the 12 or so months was worth it. If it doesn’t end up being your cup of tea then you’ll still be employable in the MH field.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I don’t think there’s a field currently more in demand. Guy I know who owns local shop is looking all over to hire A&P’s. Apparently get gobbled up by airlines pretty quick. Seems like great sustainable work.