Carb Ice?

Headspace

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Headspace
I need a reality check. I'm fairly certain what just happened was for real, but to recap:

This happened right before my final approach fix on an LPV approach. I'm in the clouds. Suddenly my engine starts to sporadically "hiccup." I turn on carb heat, and it's on for less than six seconds--immediately I get about 200 RPMs, almost as if I had pushed in the throttle. I kept the heat on.

I was in a PA-28 with a Lycoming O-360. I've been told by a few people that "Lycomings don't ice" (Edit: They meant that figuratively, of course). I've always followed the checklist anyway (because I believe Lycoming's own documentation about their own product), but I usually apply heat after the FAF/FAP. I was about 2 miles from it if I recall correctly.

I'm a fairly low time pilot compared to most here, but does this seem like it was a carb ice or something else? What else could it be?

Last edited:
Sounds like you were in one of the situations where a Cherokee 180 need carb heat on. (visible moisture in the air)
The Lycomings don't require religious use of carb heat as the contis do, but there are times when it's needed.
A carb temp gauge is quite useful.

It was carb ice. Occam's razor.
Yeah. I'll be turning it on earlier in the future if we're in the clouds for sure, Lycoming or no Lycoming.
A carb temp gauge is quite useful.
I'll look into that if I ever decide I want to own my own PA-28. I'm thinking if I do take the ownership route it'll be a Mooney.

I don't think anyone ever said "Lycomings don't ice." They are less susceptible to carb icing than the Continental installations in Cessna singles, which is why most Lycoming-powered singles say "as required" rather than "on at all low power settings" like the Continental-powered 150/172/182's, but it can happen in the right conditions, which it sounds like you found.