Calling all Electrical Engineers or others !!

SteveB

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
SteveB
Looking for opinions..........

I am 45, a Master Electrician with 28 years in the trade, and an electrical contractor for the past 12 years. Over the years I have witnessed a significant change in the ethics of my competitors and have grown sick of it. This is among other things and overall just looking for something different.

I have performed many different aspects of electrical work from Residential, Commercial, and light Industrial. Additionally, I have some experience with PV solar systems and quite a bit of agricultural based installs (which encompasses explosion proof locations).

I am considering going after a electrical engineering degree and am interested in opinions of the profession. More specifically, would my current skills be of any asset, and what are the outlooks for the profession?

Is it to late to start a new career? Am I to old? Experience a negative?

My wife has a great job and I farm part time as well....so finances should not be an issue.

Any opinions/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks, Steve

Looking for opinions..........

I am 45, a Master Electrician with 28 years in the trade, and an electrical contractor for the past 12 years. Over the years I have witnessed a significant change in the ethics of my competitors and have grown sick of it. This is among other things and overall just looking for something different.

I have performed many different aspects of electrical work from Residential, Commercial, and light Industrial. Additionally, I have some experience with PV solar systems and quite a bit of agricultural based installs (which encompasses explosion proof locations).

I am considering going after a electrical engineering degree and am interested in opinions of the profession. More specifically, would my current skills be of any asset, and what are the outlooks for the profession?