Buying another plane

corjulo

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Corjulo
My club put me on a committee to buy another plane. The general consensus is we want a true four seater. Other then the Cessna 182 is there anything you guys think we should look at?

corjulo said:
My club put me on a committee to buy another plane. The general consensus is we want a true four seater. Other then the Cessna 182 is there anything you guys think we should look at?

A true four seater? The 182 you mentioned, as well as the Piper Dakota. Also, the Cessna 206 and Piper Cherokee Sixes shouldn't be ignored.

Grumman Tiger! It's a true 4 seater, has a cool sliding canopy, goes as fast as a 182 on 2/3 of the fuel, fun to fly. (I'm new at this - how'd I do, Ron and Anthony?) :)

BillG said:
Grumman Tiger! It's a true 4 seater, has a cool sliding canopy, goes as fast as a 182 on 2/3 of the fuel, fun to fly. (I'm new at this - how'd I do, Ron and Anthony?) :)

The Tiger carries what, 900-950 pounds? With full fuel it can't really carry four real people. But it's certainly worth a look if you really want to carry three, not four, or two adults and two kids. It's way more fun to fly than a 182, that's for sure!!

corjulo said:

If you want a true 4 seater then buy a 6 seater.:rolleyes:

BillG said:

Perfect. :) Sounds like familiar propaganda to me and it sounds like you love your Tiger. Might be time for a Tiger report as a new owner. I and maybe others would like ot here your thoughts, pros/cons, etc.

If Dan needs a true four place and full fuel plus bags plane, the Tiger ain't gonna do it. Besides the 182, the Cherokee 235/Dakota comes to mind or a even a Cherokee Six. If you just want the ability to fill four seats and don't mind flying fuel to the tabs (38 gallons @ 10 GPH) then the Tiger will do it. And since Dan is located in the northeast then high DA is not an issue unless its REALLY hot.

Joe Williams said: